Aside

Why Christmas Decorations in August are a Reason to Celebrate

Yesterday, my son-in-love, posted this on Facebook, “Dear Hobby Lobby, I think August is a little too early for Christmas decoration.” One person commented, “Yeah, tell Costco that too.”

I commented, “142 days until Christmas. Share the JOY!”

The next three comments were all directed at my announcement and all were not happy with my news. One person said I’d ruined her day and another never post that again.

But that won’t be possible. I count down the days until Christmas 365 days a year. I keep Christmas decorations up in my office all year.Image

Image

My official count-down Santa chalkboard is in the kitchen.Image

Every day my Christmas elf clock sings out a Christmas carol on the hour.

Whenever I send a letter or an email, I write how many days there are until Christmas, share the JOY! I even have address labels that say at the top DAYS TIL CHRISTMAS, and I write the number of days until Christmas there.Image

While I understand that stores are looking for profit, I still smile whenever I walk into anywhere that starts celebrating Christmas early. Why?

Why not? Why not be thankful and joyful about all God does for me? That’s why I get so excited about Christmas: God has shown me His great love by sending his Son.

1 Thessalonians 5:16-17 tells us, “Be JOYFUL always, pray continually, give thanks in all circumstances.”

Share the JOY!

I don’t want Christmas to be the commercial, worldly-centered day our society is trying to force down our throats. I want it to be a joyful celebration of His gifts to me and all those I love. So I celebrate the joy all year by remembering the joy of the Christmas season with all of its family time, anticipation, and bounty of decorations, songs, and JOY—all blessings from God.

Always. Coninually. In all circumstances.

My advice to all who are irritated by the decorations springing up everywhere: don’t focus on the commercial or all you think you have to do. As you see the reminders of the Christmas season, use them to tell God “Thank you. Thank you for loving me so much you sent your one and only Son to show me how to live, to give me a hope and a future.

Remember what Ebeneezer Scrooge promised, “I will keep Christmas in my heart and honor it all year. He wasn’t going to do all of the commercial things; he was going to remember the lessons he learned by observing Christmas actions of the past, present, and future: Christmas is that time when we are most joyful, compassionate, and giving. 

Christmas is a reason to celebrate 365 days a year, not just one.

141 days until Christmas.

Share the JOY

Leave a Reply

